Company logo

INGENIEURBÜRO
SOFTWARE SYSTEMS

Ingenieurbüro Software Systems is an engineering firm that is a competent partner for the development of software systems and the solution of complex tasks.

Jürgen Ehret Head & Founder Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Ehret
Head & Founder

With Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Ehret, you have an experienced and reliable development engineer at your side. Jürgen worked for many years at BMW as a development engineer at the Research and Innovation Center (FIZ) in Munich and at the BMW Technology Office in Palo Alto, California. In interdisciplinary teams, he developed software for electronic drive and chassis systems for series production and researched new approaches for the development of safety-critical drive-by-wire systems in his dissertation.

After moving to Silicon Valley in California, Jürgen worked as a freelance software engineer and supported both well-known companies and a start-up in the development of software systems. Further details can be found in Jürgen's Brief Biography >

Jürgen Ehret Head & Founder

Brief Biography

Jürgen Ehret

Born and raised in Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany, Jürgen has developed into an internationally experienced development engineer.

Jürgen has learned his trade from scratch. He completed an apprenticeship as an energy system electronics technician with Deutsche Bahn, obtained his Abitur via the second educational path, and then studied electrical engineering at the University of Karlsruhe (TH).

As a young graduate engineer, he began his career at BMW in Munich and worked for many years in collegial, interdisciplinary teams on exciting projects that taught him the art of engineering and eventually led him to Palo Alto, California. After many fascinating years in software development, he earned his doctorate on the topic of “Validation of Safety-Critical Distributed Real-Time Systems” while working for BMW at the Technical University of Munich (TUM).

Jürgen then relocated to Silicon Valley, where he worked as a freelance software engineer. Both in established companies and in a start-up, he successfully mastered challenging software development tasks under agile working conditions for his clients.

In his projects, Jürgen has shown through his analytical and creative skills how theoretical knowledge can be successfully applied to solve practical tasks.

After returning to Germany, he founded the engineering company Ingenieurbüro Software Systems, which specializes in the development of software systems.

Jürgen loves nature, which he enjoys as often as possible while hiking or jogging, and he loves to read interesting books.

For more information about Jürgen's professional career, please see his Curriculum Vitae.

What We Do and How We Do It

We work closely with our customers to develop efficient solutions for their specific tasks and implement them in powerful and reliable software systems!

The task can look like this, for example:

  1. Design and implementation of a software system—from the idea to market maturity.
  2. Expansion or optimization of software systems.
  3. Development of software to simulate and analyze a physical process.

We firmly believe that developing high-quality software to satisfy clients requires fundamental values and principles. The “Manifesto for Agile Software Development” is both a guideline and a motivation for us to meet this high standard:

“We are uncovering better ways of developing software by doing it and helping others do it. Through this work we have come to value:

Individuals and interactions over processes and tools

Working software over comprehensive documentation

Customer collaboration over contract negotiation

Responding to change over following a plan

That is, while there is value in the items on the right, we value the items on the left more.”

(Excerpt from: Beedle, Mike, et al. 2001. “Manifesto for Agile Software Development”. https://agilemanifesto.org/)

Section Headline

Selected Projects

Discover the expertise and experience Jürgen can bring to your project. Get in touch with us. Together, we will make your project a success!

Symbol of Smartphone App

Computer Vision App

IBSoftSys

Symbol of Smartphone AppOut of interest in computer vision and digital image processing, Jürgen developed an application that simulates human vision and thinking when playing the SET® card game. Assuming normal lighting conditions, the developed smartphone app not only finds the right solution before all other players but also all solutions.

Software Tools

Objective-C C/C++ iOS Xcode Scilab/MATLAB OpenCV

Details >

Symbol of Smartphone App

Computer Vision App

IBSoftSys

The idea for this app emerged at Laurelwood Elementary School in Santa Clara, California. As a volunteer, Jürgen played the card game SET® with second-graders in math class as group work, which trains visual perception and logical thinking. He kept imagining how a smartphone could take over his role as a referee.

Based on this vision, Jürgen developed the smartphone app AI Card Player. The app recognizes the colors and symbols of the playing cards, calculates all permitted combinations, and presents the solution to the puzzle in a very clear and understandable way.

Most of the development has been finding a reliable way to recognize the colors and symbols of the playing cards and translating that model into efficient software. Interestingly, the visual perception of playing cards and the learning of the symbols is a relatively easy task for us humans, but they do not represent a trivial problem for a computer system. In contrast, the replication of logical thinking seems to be child's play for a computer system. The implementation of the rules of the game only accounted for a tiny fraction of the development effort.

You can find more information about the app at the web page AI Card Player.

Software Tools

Objective-C C/C++ iOS Xcode Scilab/MATLAB OpenCV

SET® is a registered trademark of Cannei LLC licensed by Set Enterprises, Inc.

Symbol of Crash Test Dummy

Embedded Systems

BMW Group

Symbol of Crash Test DummyIn interdisciplinary engineering teams at BMW, Jürgen developed software for electronic systems (embedded systems) for steering and drive systems in vehicles. After working for many years in the development department, Jürgen researched methods for developing software and hardware for future drive-by-wire systems for his doctoral thesis and BMW.

Software Tools

C/C++ Assembler ASCET VCC

Details >

Symbol Crash Test Dummy

Embedded Systems

BMW Group

In interdisciplinary engineering teams at BMW in Munich, Jürgen developed software for electronic control units (embedded systems) for steering and drive systems, which went into series production in the 3 and 7 series, for example.

His task was the development of real-time critical software systems that were used with different hardware configurations in many vehicle variants. The area of work included the creation of the first prototypes in the laboratory, the subsequent integration into the vehicle, system tests in the vehicle even under the most extreme climatic conditions and the support of the software systems after the start of series production.

The increasingly complex systems in vehicles, such as drive-by-wire systems, required the use of new methods and tools. In order to meet the significantly higher requirements for software and hardware, Jürgen developed and evaluated new approaches to developing such systems as part of his doctorate at the BMW Technology Office in Palo Alto, California.

Software Tools

C/C++ Assembler ASCET VCC

VCC: Virtual Component Co-Design

Symbol of Distributed System

Modelling & Simulation

GM Advanced Technology Office

Symbol of Distributed SystemTogether with the GM Advanced Technology Office, Jürgen developed a model for simulating networked control units. Using the model, the engineers at GM were able to simulate and analyze the networking of the control units in new models.

Software Tools

C/C++ MLDesigner

Details >

Symbol of Model of Distributed Systems

Modelling & Simulation

GM Advanced Technology Office

General Motors (GM) in the USA was looking for a simulation model for distributed electronic control units (ECUs) in their vehicles. The overriding goal was to develop optimal system architectures for future vehicle models.

Together with Paolo Giusto, a scientist and engineer at the GM Advanced Technology Office in Palo Alto, California, Jürgen developed a model in the MLDesigner simulation program that can simulate the distributed ECUs. The heart of the model was a search algorithm that analyzed all possible communication channels and thus enabled a quantitative evaluation of different system architectures. Individually developed evaluation functions also allowed a simple analysis of the simulation results and rounded off the developed software package.

The simulation model, which is based on statistical methods, was accepted by the engineers and successfully used in the development department at GM.

Software Tools

C/C++ MLDesigner

Symbol of Test Software Systems

Software Testing

Cisco Systems & Crosstest

Symbol of Test Software SystemsIn the start-up Crosstest, Jürgen developed modules for a software tool that software developers use to test their C/C++ code. Later, Jürgen was part of the support team at Cisco Systems, where he developed methods for testing software and supported the automation of tests through shell scripts.

Software Tools

Java C/C++ Perl Shell Scripts

Details >

Symbol of Test Software Systems

Software Testing

Cisco Systems & Crosstest

In the start-up Crosstest,San Mateo, California, Jürgen and a small team developed a software tool that generates unit test cases for C/C++ functions. The tool supports software developers in testing their software functions in order to identify and eliminate errors in the code at an early stage. The CEO of Crosstest, Khalid Sebti, was very excited about a new software module that Jürgen was developing and remarked: “Jürgen, you have set the bar very high for us!”

With a similar goal in mind, Jürgen worked on a support team at Cisco Systems, San Jose, California. In the team, Jürgen developed shell scripts for test automation and general guidelines for testing software. Another important task of the team was to familiarize the software developers with these new tools and methods and to support them in their application.

Software Tools

Java C/C++ Perl Shell Scripts

Symbol of Search for Contacts

Web Page Filtering

Car Trade Service

Symbol of Search for ContactsJürgen developed a software program that searches the websites of an online vehicle market for contact details of car dealers that are of interest to the car trade service. The contacts found are prepared for commercial programs in such a way that the data can be easily imported there.

Software Tools

Python PHP Beautiful Soup JSON Selenium WebDriver Shell Scripts

Details >

Symbol of Search for Contacts

Web Page Filtering

Car Trade Service

A Berlin car trade service wanted a software program that would search the generated websites of an online vehicle market according to selected criteria (brand, price, etc.) and filter out contact addresses that were of interest to him from the flood of information.

A challenge in this project was the high number of requests to the web server of the online portal (more than 50,000) and the associated time delays or even interruptions by the web server.

The solution to the problem was to break queries into smaller units and save the intermediate results in a standard format. As a result, the data could ultimately be merged into the desired dealer lists, regardless of the Internet connection. The generated list can now be easily imported from a standard program, for example, Microsoft Excel or Apple Numbers, and displayed clearly as a table.

This solution made the software system not only more robust and scalable, but also faster.

Software Tools

Python PHP Beautiful Soup JSON Selenium WebDriver Shell Scripts

Section Headline

Company logo

INGENIEURBÜRO
SOFTWARE SYSTEMS

Das Ingenieurbüro Software Systems ist der kompetente Partner für die Entwicklung von Softwaresystemen und die Lösung komplexer Aufgabenstellungen.

Jürgen Ehret Leiter & Gründer Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Ehret
Leiter & Gründer

Mit Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Ehret haben Sie einen erfahrenen und zuverlässigen Entwicklungsingenieur an Ihrer Seite. Jürgen arbeitete viele Jahre bei BMW als Entwicklungsingenieur im Forschungs- und Innovationszentrum (FIZ) in München und im BMW Technology Office in Palo Alto, Kalifornien. In interdisziplinären Teams entwickelte er Software für elektronische Antriebs- und Fahrwerksysteme für die Serienproduktion und untersuchte in seiner Dissertation neue Ansätze für die Entwicklung sicherheitskritischer Drive-by-Wire-Systeme.

Nach seinem Umzug in das kalifornische Silicon Valley war Jürgen als freiberuflicher Softwareingenieur tätig und unterstützte sowohl namhafte Unternehmen als auch ein Start-up bei der Entwicklung von Softwaresystemen. Weitere Einzelheiten finden Sie in Jürgens Kurzbiografie >

Jürgen Ehret Leiter & Gründer

Kurzbiografie

Jürgen Ehret

Geboren und aufgewachsen in Freiburg im Breisgau, hat sich Jürgen zu einem international erfahrenen Entwicklungsingenieur entwickelt.

Jürgen hat sein Handwerk von der Pike auf gelernt. Er absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Energieanlagenelektroniker bei der Deutschen Bahn, holte über den zweiten Bildungsweg das Abitur nach und studierte anschließend Elektrotechnik an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH).

Als junger Diplomingenieur begann er seine Karriere bei BMW in München und arbeitete viele Jahre in kollegialen, interdisziplinären Teams an spannenden Projekten, die ihn die Ingenieurskunst lehrten und schließlich nach Palo Alto, Kalifornien, führten. Nach vielen faszinierenden Jahren in der Softwareentwicklung promovierte er während seiner Tätigkeit bei BMW an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) zum Thema „Validation of Safety-Critical Distributed Real-Time Systems“.

Danach zog es Jürgen ins Silicon Valley, wo er als freiberuflicher Softwareingenieur arbeitete. Sowohl in etablierten Unternehmen als auch in einem Start-up meisterte er erfolgreich anspruchsvolle Aufgaben der Softwareentwicklung unter agilen Arbeitsbedingungen für seine Kunden.

In seinen Projekten hat Jürgen durch seine analytischen und kreativen Fähigkeiten gezeigt, wie theoretisches Wissen erfolgreich zur Lösung praktischer Aufgaben eingesetzt werden kann.

Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland gründete er das Ingenieurbüro Software Systems, das auf die Entwicklung von Softwaresystemen spezialisiert ist.

Jürgen liebt die Natur, die er so oft wie möglich beim Wandern oder Joggen genießt, und er liebt es, interessante Bücher zu lesen.

Weitere Informationen zu Jürgens Karriere finden Sie in seinem Curriculum Vitae.

Was wir tun und wie wir es tun

Wir arbeiten eng mit unseren Kunden zusammen, um effiziente Lösungen für ihre spezifischen Aufgabenstellungen zu entwickeln und in leistungsfähige und zuverlässige Softwaresysteme umzusetzen!

Die Aufgabe kann beispielsweise wie folgt aussehen:

  1. Design und Implementierung eines Softwaresystems – von der Idee bis zur Marktreife.
  2. Erweiterung oder Optimierung von Softwaresystemen.
  3. Entwicklung einer Software zur Simulation und Analyse eines physikalischen Prozesses.

Wir sind der festen Überzeugung, dass die Entwicklung hochwertiger Software zur Zufriedenheit der Kunden grundlegende Werte und Prinzipien erfordert. Das „Manifesto for Agile Software Development“ ist für uns Leitlinie und Motivation zugleich, diesem hohen Anspruch gerecht zu werden:

„Wir erschließen bessere Wege, Software zu entwickeln, indem wir es selbst tun und anderen dabei helfen. Durch diese Tätigkeit haben wir diese Werte zu schätzen gelernt:

Individuen und Interaktionen mehr als Prozesse und Werkzeuge

Funktionierende Software mehr als umfassende Dokumentation

Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden mehr als Vertragsverhandlung

Reagieren auf Veränderung mehr als das Befolgen eines Plans

Das heißt, obwohl wir die Werte auf der rechten Seite wichtig finden, schätzen wir die Werte auf der linken Seite höher ein.“

(Auszug aus: Beedle, Mike, et al. 2001. „Manifesto for Agile Software Development“. https://agilemanifesto.org/)

Section Headline

Ausgewählte Projekte

Entdecken Sie die Expertise und Erfahrung, die Jürgen in Ihr Projekt einbringen kann. Nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf. Gemeinsam machen wir Ihr Projekt zum Erfolg!

Symbol of Smartphone App

Computer Vision App

IBSoftSys

Symbol of Smartphone App Aus Interesse an Computer Vision und digitaler Bildverarbeitung entwickelte Jürgen eine Anwendung, die das menschliche Sehen und Denken beim Spielen des Kartenspiels SET® simuliert. Normale Lichtverhältnisse vorausgesetzt, findet die entwickelte Smartphone-App nicht nur die richtige Lösung vor allen anderen Spielern, sondern auch alle Lösungen.

Software Tools

Objective-C C/C++ iOS Xcode Scilab/MATLAB OpenCV

Details >

Symbol of Smartphone App

Computer Vision App

IBSoftSys

Die Idee zu dieser App entstand an der Laurelwood Elementary School in Santa Clara, Kalifornien. Als Volontär spielte Jürgen mit Zweitklässlern im Mathematikunterricht als Gruppenarbeit das Kartenspiel SET®, das die visuelle Wahrnehmung und das logische Denken trainiert. Er stellte sich immer wieder vor, wie ein Smartphone seine Rolle als Schiedsrichter übernehmen könnte.

Ausgehend von dieser Vision entwickelte Jürgen die Smartphone-App AI Card Player. Die App erkennt die Farben und Symbole der Spielkarten, berechnet alle erlaubten Kombinationen und präsentiert die Lösung des Rätsels sehr anschaulich und verständlich.

Der größte Teil der Entwicklung bestand darin, einen zuverlässigen Weg zu finden, um die Farben und Symbole der Spielkarten zu erkennen und dieses Modell in effiziente Software zu übersetzen. Interessanterweise ist die visuelle Wahrnehmung von Spielkarten und das Erlernen der Symbole für uns Menschen eine relativ einfache Aufgabe, sie stellen aber für ein Computersystem kein triviales Problem dar. Dagegen scheint die Nachbildung des logischen Denkens für ein Computersystem ein Kinderspiel zu sein. Die Umsetzung der Spielregeln machte nur einen winzigen Bruchteil des Entwicklungsaufwandes aus.

Weitere Informationen zur App finden Sie auf der Webseite AI Card Player.

Software Tools

Objective-C C/C++ iOS Xcode Scilab/MATLAB OpenCV

SET® is a registered trademark of Cannei LLC licensed by Set Enterprises, Inc.

Symbol of Crash Test Dummy

Embedded Systems

BMW Group

Symbol of Crash Test DummyIn interdisziplinären Ingenieurteams bei BMW entwickelte Jürgen Software elektronischer Systeme (Embedded Systems) für Lenk- und Antriebssysteme in Fahrzeugen. Nach langjähriger Tätigkeit in der Entwicklung erforschte Jürgen für seine Doktorarbeit und BMW Methoden zur Entwicklung von Soft- und Hardware für zukünftige Drive-by-Wire-Systeme.

Software Tools

C/C++ Assembler ASCET VCC

Details >

Symbol Crash Test Dummy

Embedded Systems

BMW Group

In interdisziplinären Ingenieurteams bei BMW, München, entwickelte Jürgen Software von elektronischen Steuergeräten (Embedded Systems) für Lenk- und Antriebssysteme, die beispielsweise im 3er und 7er in Serie gingen.

Seine Aufgabe war die Entwicklung Echtzeit kritischer Softwaresysteme, die mit unterschiedlichen Konfigurationen der Hardware in vielen Fahrzeugvarianten zum Einsatz kamen. Das Arbeitsgebiet umfasste die Erstellung der ersten Prototypen im Labor, die anschließende Integration ins Fahrzeug, Systemtests im Fahrzeug auch unter extremsten klimatischen Bedingungen und die Betreuung der Softwaresysteme nach dem Serienanlauf.

Die immer komplexer werdenden Systeme in Fahrzeugen, wie beispielsweise Drive-by-Wire-Systeme, erforderten den Einsatz neuer Methoden und Tools. Um den deutlich gestiegenen Anforderungen an Soft- und Hardware gerecht zu werden, hat Jürgen im Rahmen seiner Promotion im BMW Technology Office, Palo Alto, Kalifornien, neue Ansätze zur Entwicklung solcher Systeme entwickelt und evaluiert.

Software Tools

C/C++ Assembler ASCET VCC

VCC: Virtual Component Co-Design

Symbol of Distributed System

Modelling & Simulation

GM Advanced Technology Office

Symbol of Distributed SystemGemeinsam mit dem GM Advanced Technology Office entwickelte Jürgen ein Modell zur Simulation vernetzter Steuergeräte. Anhand des Modells konnten die Ingenieure bei GM die Vernetzung der Steuergeräte neuer Modelle simulieren und analysieren.

Software Tools

C/C++ MLDesigner

Details >

Symbol of Model of Distributed Systems

Modelling & Simulation

GM Advanced Technology Office

General Motors (GM) in den USA suchte nach einem Simulationsmodell für vernetzte elektronischer Steuergeräte in ihren Fahrzeugen. Übergeordnetes Ziel war es, optimale Systemarchitekturen für zukünftige Fahrzeugmodelle zu entwickeln.

Gemeinsam mit Paolo Giusto, Forscher und Ingenieur am GM Advanced Technology Office, Palo Alto, Kalifornien, entwickelte Jürgen ein Modell, das vernetzte Steuergeräte simulieren kann. Herzstück des Modells war ein Suchalgorithmus, der alle möglichen Kommunikationskanäle analysierte und so eine quantitative Bewertung unterschiedlicher Systemarchitekturen ermöglichte. Individuell entwickelte Auswertungsfunktionen erlaubten zudem eine einfache Analyse der Ergebnisse und rundeten das entwickelte Softwarepaket ab.

Das auf statistischen Methoden basierende Simulationsmodell wurde von den GM Ingenieuren akzeptiert und in den Entwicklungsabteilungen erfolgreich eingesetzt.

Software Tools

C/C++ MLDesigner

Symbol of Test Software Systems

Software Testing

Cisco Systems & Crosstest

Symbol of Test Software SystemsIn der Start-up Crosstest entwickelte Jürgen Module für ein Softwaretool, mit dem Softwareentwickler ihren C/C++ Code testen. Später war Jürgen Teil des Support-Teams bei Cisco Systems, wo er Methoden zum Testen von Software entwickelte und die Automatisierung von Tests durch Shell Scripts unterstützte.

Software Tools

Java C/C++ Perl Shell Scripts

Details >

Symbol of Test Software Systems

Software Testing

Cisco Systems & Crosstest

In der Start-up Crosstest, San Mateo, Kalifornien, hat Jürgen in einem kleinen Team Module für ein Softwaretool entwickelt, das Unit-Testfälle für C/C++-Funktionen generiert. Das Tool unterstützt Softwareentwickler beim Testen ihrer Softwarefunktionen, um Fehler im Code frühzeitig zu erkennen und zu beseitigen. Der CEO von Crosstest, Khalid Sebti, war sehr begeistert von einem neuen Softwaremodul, das Jürgen entwickelte, und bemerkte: „Jürgen, du hast die Messlatte für uns sehr hoch gelegt!“

Mit einem ähnlichen Ziel vor Augen arbeitete Jürgen im Supportteam bei Cisco Systems, San Jose, Kalifornien. Im Team entwickelte Jürgen Shell Scripts für die Testautomatisierung und allgemeine Richtlinien für das Testen von Software. Eine weitere wichtige Aufgabe des Teams war es, die Softwareentwickler mit diesen neuen Tools und Methoden vertraut zu machen und sie bei der Anwendung zu unterstützen.

Software Tools

Java C/C++ Perl Shell Scripts

Symbol of Search for Contacts

Web Page Filtering

Auto-Handels-Service

Symbol of Search for ContactsJürgen entwickelte ein Softwareprogramm, das die Webseiten eines Online-Fahrzeugmarktes nach Kontaktdaten von Autohändlern durchsucht, die für den Auto-Handels-Service interessant sind. Die gefundenen Kontakte werden für kommerzielle Programme so aufbereitet, dass die Daten dort einfach importiert werden können.

Software Tools

Python PHP Beautiful Soup JSON Selenium WebDriver Shell Scripts

Details >

Symbol of Search for Contacts

Web Page Filtering

Auto-Handels-Service

Ein Berliner Auto-Handels-Service wünschte sich ein Softwareprogramm, das die generierten Webseiten eines Online-Fahrzeugmarktes nach ausgewählten Kriterien (Marke, Preis etc.) durchsucht und aus der Informationsflut für ihn interessante Kontaktadressen herausfiltert.

Eine Herausforderung bei diesem Projekt war die hohe Anzahl an Anfragen an den Webserver des Online-Portals (mehr als 50.000) und die damit verbundenen Verzögerungen oder gar Abbrüche durch den Webserver.

Die Lösung des Problems bestand darin, Abfragen in kleinere Einheiten zu zerlegen und die Zwischenergebnisse in einem Standardformat zu speichern. Dadurch konnten die Daten letztendlich unabhängig von der Internetverbindung zu den gewünschten Händlerlisten zusammengeführt werden. Die generierte Liste kann nun einfach aus einem Standardprogramm, zum Beispiel Microsoft Excel oder Apple Numbers, importiert und übersichtlich als Tabelle dargestellt werden.

Diese Lösung machte das Softwaresystem nicht nur robuster und skalierbarer, sondern auch schneller.

Software Tools

Python PHP Beautiful Soup JSON Selenium WebDriver Shell Scripts

Section Headline